Peru: day 11

I’ve actually run out of interesting things to say. The good news is that I’ve taken a lot of pictures, and I’ll probably also have a series of memoirs (hopefully), and if not maybe I’ll do a write-up of details I missed while blogging (what Huaycan is like, cultural differences, journal excerpts, etc).

I realized today that people are going to ask me, “So how was your trip?” And I’ll be expected to say something like, “It was fun!” But it hasn’t been fun. I mean it has, obviously, but not the whole time and that wasn’t why I came here. I’m 23 years old. I do nothing but work and have fun. I came here to experience something beyond that, to learn and get perspective.

I learned what it is to be a minority, to be stared at and scrutinized everywhere. I’ve learned about myself and how I react when when confronted with unknown and stressful situations. I’ve learned a tiny bit of Spanish, not much, but more than I came here with. I’ve learned how to wing it even better than I could before. I learned to be away from the constant contact of my social life and how to not take pictures of everything (because I couldn’t). I learned I probably shouldn’t be an ESL teacher (not because I haven’t enjoyed it, I really have, but for many other reasons that I’ll detail the aforementioned write-up). I learned how to adapt.

Best of all, I think I learned what I want to do next with my life and that’s a very exciting thing for me. The fear of, “What comes next? What if it’s nothing. Is this it?” permeated my winter doldrums. Now I have a renewed faith in the world and in life itself. It doesn’t have to be boring, and I can do whatever the hell I want. And what I want is to see every inch of land on this planet until I decide I want something else.

My point is that I think my answer to, “So how was your trip?” is going to be, “I got what I came for.”

Leave a Reply

