Peru: day 13

Tonight is my last night with LLI and my last night in Huaycan. Tomorrow I’m taking a taxi to my hostel in Barranco, where I’m going to relax for a few days before heading home on Friday. I was planning to go to Machu Picchu but I couldn’t swing it with the amount of time I have and money I brought (not enough of either). Hopefully I’ll pick up some Spanish and come back to South America someday.

I had a fun time these last few days. I finished teaching my classes and my adult class all gave me hugs and well wishes goodbye even though I only taught them for two weeks. One of them even wanted a picture taken with me.

The other volunteers have been going out for snacks every night and hitting up our favorite places. We determine our favorite places by whether or not the people who run them are nice to us. They receive our unrelenting devotion (and bottomless sweet tooth) with simple politeness. My favorite place is this bakery that has this hazelnut cake with coffee icing. There’s also the cookies I tried that had pop rocks in them. It was fun to figure out whether they were pop rocks or if I was having an allergic reaction. Every edible thing I’ve had here has been amazing. I’m actually a little sad to be going back to burnt coffee and turkey sandwiches.

Yesterday we took the kids on a field trip to a yogurt farm. It was a lot of fun and the yogurt was delicious. I took a ton of pictures, which I’ll post later. I was confused as to how a yogurt farm could be in the middle of a desert, but it was kind of an oasis. Also the cows ate bananas instead of grass.

I had a great time volunteering and I’m going to miss this place a lot. Hopefully I’ll be able to write once I get to Barranco tomorrow!

(I had to write this hastily which is why it’s so poorly written. I promise better writing when I get home.)

Leave a Reply

